How to Recertify CCNA certification | Everything you need to know

by | Apr 1, 2017 | CCNA | 0 comments

Cisco Certifications

Cisco Systems is a giant Networking Corporation trusted worldwide for developing, manufacturing, and selling networking hardwaretelecommunications equipment, and other high-technology services and products. Cisco Systems has covered the globe with its products in every part of the world-leading it to introduce its certification for its support, troubleshoot and maintenance.

Cisco systems offer 5 level of IT Networking Certification.

  1. Entry Level
  2. Associate Level
  3. Professional Level
  4. Expert Level
  5. Architect Level

Levels of Cisco Certifications by I-Medita

Levels of Cisco Certifications

Entry Level being the lowest certification in the ladder is the easiest to pass. As we move forward, the difficulty level escalates with the certification authority providing the expert skills and knowledge of the particular domain leading to the perks of it like job and salary.

In this blog post, we will discuss How to recertify CCNA – Associate Level Certification. Before that let’s discuss Cisco CCNA Certifications.

CCNA (Cisco Certified Network Associate)

CCNA (Cisco Certified Network Associate) is one of the most popular and initial Level IT certification Exam in Cisco Certification Arsenal. Cisco CCNA Certification validates fundamental skills, knowledge, and ability to install, setup, configure, troubleshoot and operate medium size enterprise networks. CCNA Certifications can be considered as the foundation level of networking certification.

Cisco Systems conducts this exam in collaboration with Pearson VUE. These Examinations are conducted at authorized Pearson test Centers all over the word.

Networking being so vast technology, it has been divided into various levels and domains.

CCNA is one of the five levels of Cisco wherein, there are total 10 Associate Level Certification in Cisco Certification Examination:

  1. CCDA
  2. CCNA Cloud
  3. CCNA Collaboration
  4. CCNA Data Center
  5. CCNA Industrial
  6. CCNA Routing and Switching
  7. CCNA Security
  8. CCNA Service Provider
  9. CCNA Wireless
  10. CCNA Cyber Ops

Associate Level Cisco Certifications by I-Medita

Associate Level Cisco Certifications

The Format of Cisco CCNA Exam Test:

Cisco Certification Examination is 90 minutes examination with an average of 55 questions per test depending on the domains.

Cisco Certification exams include the following test formats:

  • Multiple Choice Single Response
  • Multiple-choice multiple responses
  • Fill-in-the-blank
  • Testlet
  • Drag-and-drop
  • Simlet
  • Simulations

For Sample Examination check out this Official Cisco Link:

E Book-Cisco CCNA Certificaiton

Exam Validity:

Networking technology is evolving every day. In order to keep its certification’s value and essence, Cisco says their engineers should be frequently updated with the changing technology, which is the reason all Cisco CCNA Certification Exams are valid for only 3 years.

After 3 years you need to recertify your CCNA Certification.

Cisco Recertification Renewal Timeframes:

Certification Duration
Entry-level, Associate-level, and Professional level 3 years
All CCIE certifications 2 years
Specialist certifications 2 years
Cisco Certified Architect 5 years

You can track your Cisco Certification from here:

Recertification Process/ How to Recertify CCNA Certification?

Cisco CCNA Certification can be given at any Pearson VUE Center near to your location. There are many person centers all over the globe. You can locate your nearest Pearson VUE Center to recertify CCNA from here:

Locate Pearson VUE Center for Cisco Certifications

Recommended Read: Step by Step Guide on How to Book Cisco CCNA Certification

How to Recertify CCNA Certification:

  • Pass any current Associate-level exam except for ICND1 exam, or
  • Pass any current 642-XXX Professional-level or any 300-XXX Professional-level exam, or
  • Pass any current 642-XXX Cisco Specialist exam (excluding Sales Specialist exams or MeetingPlace Specialist exams, Implementing Cisco TelePresence Installations (ITI) exams, Cisco Leading Virtual Classroom Instruction exams or any 650 online exams), or
  • Pass any current CCIE Written Exam, or
  • Pass the current CCDE Written Exam OR current CCDE Practical Exam, or
  • Pass the Cisco Certified Architect (CCAr) interview AND the CCAr board review to extend lower certifications

CCNA Passing Score:

There is no decided Exam Passing Score officially given by Cisco. The exam passing scope is subjected to change without any prior notice. From past few years, candidates above 82% have earned this certification. The passing score is set by using statistical analysis and is announced after the examination only.

Cisco CCNA Certification Cost and other details:

Certification Exam Number Exam Name Duration Fees (USD) Per Attempt
R&S 200-125 CCNA Cisco Certified Network Associate 90 Minutes (50-60 questions) 325
Collaboration 210-060 CICD Implementing Cisco Collaboration Devices 75 Minutes (55 – 65 questions) 300
210-065 CIVND Implementing Cisco Video Network Devices 75 Minutes (55 – 65 questions) 300
Data Center 640-911 DCICN Introducing Cisco Data Center Networking 90 minutes (65-75 questions) 300
640-916 DCICT Introducing Cisco Data Center Technologies 90 minutes (65-75 questions) 300
Service Provider 640-875 SPNGN1 Building Cisco Service Provider Next-Generation Networks, Part 1 (SPNGN1) 90 minutes (65-75 questions) 300
640-878 SPNGN2 Building Cisco Service Provider Next-Generation Networks, Part 2 (SPNGN2) 90 minutes (65-75 questions) 300
Wireless 200-355 WIFUND Implementing Cisco Wireless Network Fundamentals 90 minutes (60-70 questions) 300
Security 210-260 IINS Implementing Cisco Network Security (IINS) 90 minutes (60-70 questions) 300
Cyber Ops 210-250 SECFND Understanding Cisco Cybersecurity Fundamentals 90 Minutes (55-60 questions) 300
210-255 SECOPS Implementing Cisco Cybersecurity Operations 90 Minutes (55-60 questions) 300
Cloud 210-451 CLDFND Understanding Cisco Cloud Fundamentals 90 Minutes (55 – 65 questions) 300
210-455 CLDADM Introducing Cisco Cloud Administration 90 Minutes (55 – 65 questions) 300
Industrial 200-601 IMINS2 Managing Industrial Networking for Manufacturing with Cisco Technologies 90 Minutes (65 – 75 questions) 300

How CCNA Certification Looks Like:

CCNA Certificate Sample

CCNA Certificate Sample

Recommended Read:


I-Medita is an ISO 9001:2015 certified Professional Training Company. I-Medita is India's Most Trusted Networking Training Company. We help in providing industry oriented skill training to networking enthusiasts and professionals to kick-start their career in Networking domains. Our efforts are to keep momentum with the Industry technological demands and diversifying universe of knowledge.
Register for Free Demo Session