Network Security Career | How to Build an amazing Career

by | Jan 12, 2018 | CCIE, CCNA, CCNP | 0 comments

What is Network Security? Network Security is one of the trending and most demanding technologies in today’s world. With the growing internet services and online data transfer, we need security at very rates. Network Security is the key to protect your data and network from different threats, this includes both hardware and software technologies. They secure network or data by not allowing threats to entering, develop or layout.

Types of Network Security:

  • Access control
  • Antivirus and Anti-Malware software
  • Application security
  • Behavioural analytics
  • Data loss prevention
  • Email security
  • Firewalls
  • Intrusion prevention systems(IPS)
  • Mobile device security
  • Network Segmentation
  • Security information and event management
  • VPN
  • Web security
  • Wireless security

Top Companies into Network Security:

  • IBM Security
  • Cisco Systems
  • Raytheon Company
  • Palo Alto Networks
  • Checkpoint Technologies
  • Mimecast
  • CyberArk Software
  • Sophos
  • BAE Systems
  • Rapid7
  • Symantec
  • AT&T Network Security

Career Opportunities: Security domain is one of the highest paid jobs in networking domain. Companies like Cisco, Juniper, Palo Alto Networks and Checkpoint provide certification from Entry level to Architect level in the security domain. You can go for certification or knowledge for same and get the amazing career opportunities within Security domain.

For preparing for certification or knowledge for security domain you can choose the best training institute.

Cisco Certification in Security Domain: For Cisco Security Certification one must go step by step like first the one needs to prepare for CCENT that is an entry-level certification for any Cisco certification then for associate level certification that is CCNA Security, then professional level certification, CCNP Security and later CCIE Security certification that is an expert level certification. For all these certifications you need to pass the Cisco examination for different levels.

network security career

Let us take a view of the examination details for all the levels in Cisco Security Track.

Examination Details: Below is the examination details for Cisco Security domain from entry level to expert level, which includes exam name and number and the Cisco’s cost for same.

Cisco Levels Required Exam/Exam Number Exam Name Exam Duration with no. of questions Prerequisites Exam Cost in USD Per Attempt
CCENT 100-105 ICND1 Interconnecting Cisco Networking Devices Part 1 90 Minutes (45-55 questions) No Prerequisites 165
CCNA Security 210-260 IINS Implementing Cisco Network Security (IINS) 90 minutes (60-70 questions) Any valid CISCO CCENT; CCNA Routing and Switching or any CCIE certification can act as a prerequisite. 300
CCNP Security 300-206 SENSS Implementing Cisco Edge Network Security Solutions (SENSS) 90 minutes (65-75 questions) Valid CCNA Security certification or any CCIE certification can act as a prerequisite. 300
300-208 SISAS Implementing Cisco Secure Access Solutions (SISAS) 90 minutes (65-75 questions) 300
300-209 SIMOS Implementing Cisco Secure Mobility Solutions (SIMOS) 90 minutes (65-75 questions) 300
300-207 SITCS Implementing Cisco Threat Control Solutions (SITCS) 90 minutes (65-75 questions) 300
300-210 SITCS Implementing Cisco Threat Control Solutions (SITCS) 90 minutes (65-75 questions) 300
CCIE Security 400-251 Written Exam CCIE Security Written Exam 120 Minutes (90 – 110 questions) There are no official prerequisites from Cisco 450
Lab Lab Exam v4.0 8 Hours CCIE Security Written exam 1600

Checkpoint Certification in Security Domain: Checkpoint is a multinational company which provides services in Security domain in both hardware and software which includes network security, data security, mobile security, endpoint security, and management security. The candidate can start their career with core security foundations by applying for CCSA (Check Point Certified Security Administrator) R80/R77 and CCSE (Check Point Certified Security Expert) R80/R77 and later can upgrade their knowledge and levels in CCSM (Check Point Certified Security Master) and CCMSE (Check Point Managed Security Expert).

Examination Details: These are the details for Checkpoint certification which includes related course and exam required for each exam.

Certifications Related Courses Exams
CCSA Check Point Certified Security Administrator Checkpoint CCSA #156-215
CCSE Check Point Certified Security Expert Checkpoint CCSE #156-315
CCSM Check Point Certified Security Master Check Point Certified Security Master Training #156-115
CCMSE Check Point Managed Security Expert Multi-Domain Security Management with Virtual System Extension Training #156-820

Similarly other Vendors like Palo Alto Networks, Juniper they have their own Certification Tracks.

Popular Job Profiles in Security domain:

  • Network Security Associate
  • Network Security Engineer / Senior Network Engineer (Firewall & VPN)
  • Network Specialist / Lead Network Specialist
  • Infrastructure Consulting Practitioner
  • Network Architect
  • Network Consulting Engineer
  • Firewall Engineer
  • Network Security Analyst
  • CCIE Security Trainer

Recommended Reads:


I-Medita is an ISO 9001:2015 certified Professional Training Company. I-Medita is India's Most Trusted Networking Training Company. We help in providing industry oriented skill training to networking enthusiasts and professionals to kick-start their career in Networking domains. Our efforts are to keep momentum with the Industry technological demands and diversifying universe of knowledge.
Register for Free Demo Session